Life Choices: 1. How You See Me

Imagine you are walking down the path of your life. Stop. Climb to the top of the nearest tree and peer out into the distance of your future. What do you see? Maybe now is the time to reflect and take note of where you are and where you are going. Is the path you are on going to lead you in the direction of your dreams?

It seems, we all spend far too long worrying about what other people think of us and our decisions.

We question whether we have made the right choices. I believe it is vital to determine the reasons behind our decisions. Too often, we make conclusions based on what we think ‘looks best’, or what will please other people. In fact, social pressures couldn’t be more common.

Take university for example. It is now ‘expected’ that after many (laborious) years of school, we continue to force our heads inside textbooks, isolating us from the real world to gain a degree, a better paid job… Oh! And a heap of debt. This has lead to many people doing rather pointless degrees, without a desired occupation in mind. I find this particular social pressure extremely frustrating. Why is it that we must gain a degree to appear ‘intelligent’ or ‘attractive’ to potential employers? Answer: We don’t! University isn’t for everyone.

The fact remains, whether we like it or not, we will only be really successful doing something we love. We can be average at many things, but to be the absolute best we can be, we have to want something bad enough. This means doing anything possible to make it happen. Take risks. If your unhappy – change something.

“I have looked in the mirror every morning and asked myself: “If today were the last day of my life, would I want to do what I am about to do today?” And whenever the answer has been “No” for too many days in a row, I know I need to change something. – Steve Jobs

So, is it as easy as that? Throw in the towel and walk away. If only! Quitting isn’t for me, and I’m sure it isn’t for you. To quit would result in disappointing others and a huge loss of pride. In fact, to quit and say ‘I don’t want to do this anymore’ can often be seen as failing. No one wants to be seen as a failure.

But quitting something you don’t enjoy, is that really ‘failing’; Or in fact, does it show you are strong enough to put your own interests first? Is it another way of saying ‘how you see me doesn’t matter’? Maybe the only thing that matters is how we see ourselves.

Live for a purpose and fight for your dreams.

“Do not go where the path may lead, go instead where there is no path and leave a trail.” – Ralph Waldo Emerson

There are a multitude of paths we can take in life. Follow your own path. Do not choose a life that will please anyone but yourself. Remember, it is never too late to change direction.

I think it takes real guts to say ‘my life isn’t going the way I had hoped, so I am going to change it’. Taking control of your future is a really scary but empowering decision.

Choose your destination, and start plotting your route. You will have to take diversions, so never loose sight of your journey’s end.

Finally, regret nothing.

It’s not about how you are seen, what matters is how you see yourself.

Leave a comment